Ryan’s Birthday Party

Ryan for the second year in a row has requested an animal themed party.  Last year we did Noah’s Ark so this year we decided to do Circus/Zoo.  Part of the fun for the kids is to look at all of the themed cakes on the Internet and pick out one that they like.  I usually steer the kids to easier cakes since I make them and I am not that good yet.  Ryan and I found an elephant cake that we both seemed to like so it was off to the kitchen. Ryan wanted a vanilla cake with strawberry filling.  I started on the cake yesterday by assembling it.  It did not go well.  The trunk continued to rip time after time as I put on the first thin layer of frosting on.  I took a day to figure out what to do because there was no way that I would be able to put on the colored frosting layer.  I decided to pipe little stars on the whole cake….It was going to be a long process.
IMG_4905

After 10 minutes of piping and about 1 1/2 hours before the party started I came to the conclusion that I am not going to finish the cake because my hand started to cramp up and I had a lot to go.  We ended up taking turns of 5 minutes each, Ted, me and my awesome backyard neighbor.  She told me this was her first time frosting a cake but she did great (I actually think she enjoyed it).

IMG_4910We finished the cake about 10 mins before the party started, plenty of time.

IMG_4915As the party started, Ryan decided he was too shy to come down to his party.  I only invited our neighbor kids, ones he plays with everyday so there was no reason to be shy.  We eventually got him down the stairs.  Ted then had all of the kids come into the house to lay down and pretend to sleep.    As they slept, they were told all of the zoo animals escaped and we needed help to find them.  The kids had to head outside and find all the stuffed animals hidden in the trees.

IMG_4916After they found all of the animals, they had to go on a scavenger hunt and find toys and food for the animals.  Ted had a list which included a live ant.  We then got out the pinata, which our kids always look forward to.  Ryan had picked out a very cool black dragon this year.  I am not sure how that fits into the zoo theme but as he said, it is an animal.

IMG_4928I don’t know how many more years we are going to be able to do the pinata because they are getting better at hitting.  For anyone 6 and older, we had to spin them around to make them dizzy and put a cap over their eyes.

IMG_4936

I think next year we will have to get a blind-fold out because we had to do a serious duck tape job to get the pinata through all of the kids.  Oh well, the kids had fun.

As we were lighting the candles later on in the evening, Ryan again informed us that he was too shy to have anyone sing to him so we just let him blow out the candles.

Happy Birthday Ryan.  Congratulations on turning 4!!  We love you.

IMG_4960

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ryan’s Birthday Party

  1. Pingback: He’s 7! | To China and Back Again

Leave a Reply

