Vacation 2013 (Part 2)

Today is Ted’s birthday but since he is working all day today, going out to supper with co-workers, then rushing off to youth group this evening, we are not going to celebrate his birthday today.  Since there will be no birthday pictures today, I figured I would try and get a few more pictures of our vacation on the blog.  I don’t think they will all fit in this post either but that is because I take too many pictures.

We left the Wisconsin Dells area to head off to Lake Michigan.  We thought it would be fun for the kids to play in the water and in the sand.  When we got there, the kids were all very much in awe of the huge sandbox that seemed to go on forever.  It took us 10 minutes to walk through the sand, granted they were playing in it along the way, to get to the water.  We were all excited to jump in because it was a hot day.  We soon discovered why most of the people were sitting on the beach and not in the water.  It was cold…ice cold.  I think I lost feeling in my feet if I stayed in there for more then 1 minute.  I do not remember Lake Michigan being that cold.  The only one who really enjoyed the water right away was Luke; however, Ryan eventually worked his way into the water.  The kids did a lot of sand playing though so that made up for the cold water.

IMG_4628While we were there, we went to a very small local zoo.  They had crackers to feed the giraffes.  Luke was excited, the girls didn’t understand what they were getting themselves into but if Luke was excited then they were going to be excited.  Ryan, well, as much of an animal lover as he is, he was too scared to get that close to the giraffes.

IMG_4650I was not scared until they were above me and coming down towards me to get their cracker with their really big heads.  At first I thought maybe they would bite me or hit me with their big head or something but they were pretty nice giraffes.  After the first cracker, it was pretty easy the rest of the time.  I did have to lift the kids up so they could get the cracker to the giraffes mouth and Luke is not light.

IMG_4653Ryan was still not over the close encounter with the giraffes so he missed his opportunity to pet a baby alligator.  Luke was a little hesitant but Jenna just jumped in there to pet it and walked away as if it was nothing.

IMG_4671Ryan did finally recover enough to pet the goats and pot bellied pigs.

IMG_4663As we finished up at our second stop, we went to visit probably the most anticipated spot, the Jelly Belly factory.  Ryan had been singing about the Jelly Belly factory for the whole trip.  Everyday he would ask if today was the day we were going to go to the factory.  If I said no, he would say that the day was not going to be a good day.  I was excited to finally be able to tell him that today was the day we were going to the Jelly Belly factory.

IMG_4686

My kids loved the train ride through the factory.  But probably the best part was trying all of the flavors afterwards.

IMG_4691

We even let the kids pick out their own mix of jelly beans to take home with them.  For the rest of the trip, I would give them a little handful here and there and Luke and Ryan would spent tons of time using the chart to figure out which flavor it was before they would put it into their mouth.  I think it made the drive time go a lot faster for them.

Well, I will give you the conclusion of our vacation a different day, hope you enjoyed the pictures.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

