Last Weekend’s Birthday Party

Last weekend we had our girl’s birthday party.   As we were getting ready for the party a few youth group members stopped by our house to hang out.  We put them to work watching our kids so that I could get the food ready and Ted could get the pinata and presents ready.  I felt a little bad because I made Davis de-tangle two kite strings while he was here.  I think it took him between 30-45 min to do it.

IMG_5013Thanks Davis.  Anyways, I think the girls actually understood that the party was for them.  They were excited when all of the Grandparents and Bella (we can’t have a birthday party without Bella) showed up for their party.  We actually talked Davis into staying with us too because I felt we needed more kids there.  We started playing duck duck goose but the girls don’t like to get singled out and made to talk in front of people so we quickly switched games.  We ended up playing house-wide hide and seek.  I don’t think Davis, he is a high-school junior, knew what he was getting himself into when I asked him to stay for the party but he was a pretty good sport on all of the toddler games he had to play.  He actually was a huge life-saver because every time Ryan started getting upset over something (which happened a lot), I would tell Ryan to jump on Davis.  It worked like a charm.  I think Davis was a bit tired by the end of the evening.

Back to the party, following the Yoder tradition, we got the girls a pinata.  I had found a Ni Hao Kai lan which the girls loved.

IMG_5059This year’s birthday for the girls was a lot different then last years.  Last year the girls didn’t really understand what presents were.  The boys helped them open them but this year….well…the girls know what a present is and they had a blast opening them all.   Jenna finally got her beloved backpack that she wanted.  She hugged it multiple times and wore it for most of the evening.

IMG_5029

Last year, the girls birthday was a day before their first surgery.  We were all stressed out trying to get ready for it.  Because they had not had their mouths fixed yet,  the girls could not blow out their candles.  This year Jenna was extremely excited to blow out the candles.  I think Quinn was a little scared, she let Jenna blow out all of the candles.

IMG_5044

What a difference one year makes in the life of a child.  Right now I am in the middle of it all and life seems to be going at a snails pace yet when I have a chance to look back I realize that both Jenna and Quinn have changed so much this past year.  They  understand English, they are starting to talk, they understand how our family works, they understand the rules of our house (that’s right, no more finding Jenna walking on top of my stove or climbing the kitchen cabinets), they have grown 4 inches..yes 4 whole inches, their hair has gotten long enough to pull back into braids and piggy-tails, they have a roof to their mouth, they have a front lip…I mean the list could go on and on.  I know I get frustrated that they don’t understand as much as my boys knew at age 2 or 3 but yet if you think about it they probably know more, they know what it feels like to lose their family and not only their biological but their foster family, culture, and language too.  I know I forget it sometimes like in the mist of speech therapy when they want to be done yet I am still pushing them to talk more, make 1 more sound, put two syllables together to form a word but my girls are wonderful, they are smart, they are loved.  Happy 3rd Birthday Jenna and Quinn (even if I am a week late at getting these pictures up).

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last Weekend’s Birthday Party

  1. Pingback: They turned 6! | To China and Back Again

Leave a Reply

