Halloween, time for some trick or treating.

After about 3 1/2 weeks of waiting to see the ENT (ear, nose & throat doctor) for Jenna’s ears, we finally had our appointment on Halloween morning.  It had gotten to the point that we had to yell at Jenna just to talk to her and even then she sometimes didn’t really understand what we were saying.  At first glance the ENT doctor thought that there was a bead in Jenna’s ears but under closer examination they realized it was just a massive puss bubble.  Her ear infection that was diagnosed at the beginning of October had not cleared up even with antibiotic drops but had developed into a very serious massive smelly (and I mean smelly because we could smell something rotten coming from her for a couple of days) double ear infection.  She is now on a very hard core antibiotic ear drop for the next 3 weeks (a normal infection usually only has drops for about 7 days) and a very strong oral antibiotic that might make her stomach upset for the next 3 weeks also.  In addition, they suctioned out her ears, took a very little needle and injected antibiotics through the ear tube into the middle ear.  We basically need to get this cleaned up so there is no permanent hearing lose.   But on a plus side, her ear tubes are both working and not plugged up with tissue.  I think it is a bit crazy because my boys have had a few ear infections and they are on the sofa with fevers.  Besides the fact that Jenna couldn’t hear anything and the rotten egg smell coming from her ears, you would never have know that she had an infection.  She is a tough little girl.

My dad was babysitting Ryan while I was at the doctor’s office with the girls.  After we got home, we started some of the fall gardening.  Dad had volunteered to help me redo my Iris and Tulip beds.  So we went to work.

IMG_5480That’s right, my dad made my girls do all of the work.  Just kidding, I think they got into the way more then anything but they sure had fun helping and getting dirty.

IMG_5479My boys got to help too and again I don’t know how much help they were either but they had fun getting dirty.

IMG_5489

After we finished it was time to go trick or treating.  My kids were not happy they had to pose first because they wanted to start the candy collection.

IMG_5502

I know some people are against Halloween…the whole dressing up and going trick or treating but we had a lot of fun talking to neighbors one last time before the really cold weather sets in.   The next day, Jenna and Quinn had their Halloween party at their 2 year old class.  I decided they didn’t need to wear their warm costumes so I got out their indoor play clothes.  They were really excited to dress up to go to school.

IMG_5513I have to add this next picture because Quinn was so happy about how she chose to pose in the picture.  She re-enacted it about 10 times while getting her coat on continually pointing to the camera.  She had such a big grin on each time too so I think she is pretty proud about the pose.

IMG_5515

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

