Dec 2nd

Last Monday was a pretty emotional day.  Besides being my older brother’s birthday, it also happens to be the day my girls became orphans.  I am not sure why but it hit me really hard as I watched them playing on my living room floor with a few toys.  Three years ago someone who loved them dropped them off, said good-bye to them not knowing what was going to happen to them.

SCAN0106As I struggled through the day, I was reminded of all the sadness and loss that surrounds that day.  Now I know people say that was the day that made it possible for us to adopt them and make them part of our family but I wish it didn’t have to be surrounded with all the loss.

By the end of the day and after a ton of smiles from the girls oblivious to the date on the calendar and what that day means to them we sat down to do a craft project.  You know I must be crazy if I am willing to attempt a craft project with all four kids but I had some extra help and it just seemed right to do something as a family on this day.

IMG_5948

IMG_5950

IMG_5951

IMG_5964

IMG_5952

And craft we did.  My mom was there along with Shelby, a high schooler who has been staying with my mom as she recovers from knee surgery.  Even though we had 4 adults to 4 kids, there was spilled glue and ripped tissue paper every where, a little chaotic….but it was also good….as a family of 6.

IMG_5969

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

