Dumplings and more dumplings

Last weekend we had a pretty laid back weekend.  We didn’t have much to do except on Saturday evening.  Someone in town asked if I would be interested in learning how to make Chinese dumplings.  I am up for any cooking lesson so I said sure.  We met at 2 to start making the dumplings.  She showed me how to make the stuffing and the dough.

IMG_5991

 

We formed the dough and rolled it out into little doilies.

IMG_6036

IMG_6020

And we started stuffing and folding, stuffing and folding, over and over and over.

IMG_6009

My first attempt was not pretty but the great thing about dumplings is you make a lot so you get a lot of practice.  By the end I was pretty good, my curve started to be symmetrical.  Here is a picture of my before and after a lot of practice.

IMG_6041

After we made over a hundred dumplings (yes because you eat that many of them) we started to cook them up.  We did 3 different methods.  Normally you wouldn’t have to do all 3 methods but I wanted to compare them and see which way I like better.  So we boiled them…

IMG_6043Steamed them….

IMG_6051And browned the bottoms then dumped water on them to steam/boil them until they were done.

IMG_6048By the end we had a lot of dumplings ready to eat.

IMG_6056

Ted brought the kids over around 4:30 to watch some and to help eat all of the dumplings.  Our family had a blast hanging out, eating, and socializing.  The kids had a blast running around a normally quiet house and causing their normal chaos.  Jenna was happy because suddenly there was another daddy to play with and to carry her.  She always seems to latch onto a male figure who has an empty arms, it doesn’t matter if it is a youth group kid, another daddy, a grandpa.  She is in heaven if she gets someone to cuddle with non-stop.

IMG_6061

 

And the best part, I know how to make dumplings….and depending on timing, they might make it on the menu for Chinese New Year.  Hope my neighbors are ready.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dumplings and more dumplings

  1. Joy says:

    So which method did you prefer?

  2. Terry says:

    I LOVED making dumplings with you! I made them again just this past weekend with my siblings and my parents in St. Louis. Even though they have a Chinatown close by, the agreement at the table was, “homemade dumplings are WAY better than store bought!”

  3. Tina says:

    Ah great to see you Terry !!! Glad you all had fun!!

Leave a Reply

