Chinese New Years

This past weekend we celebrated Chinese New Years.  It was a busy week leading up to our celebration.  Ted was out of town for the whole week so I was kept busy just taking care of the kids and maintaining some sort of order around the house.  We celebrated on Friday evening because Ted didn’t get home until the afternoon.  When Ted did get home, I quickly put him to work decorating the house.  Right now our house is filled with a few Christmas decorations I have not put away yet, Valentine decorations and our souvenirs we got in China.  It is an interesting mix but it works because everything is red, the color of luck in China.  IMG_7142I was extremely busy in the kitchen trying to make all of my Chinese dishes from scratch.  I made shrimp lo mein, dumplings, General Tso’s Chicken (I know this is not really Chinese but it is an American Chinese dish so it worked for me), and cupcakes.  I have worked hard at learning how to make most of these sauces from scratch because I don’t like all of the different preservatives in the sauces from the store.    Yes, this lead to a mad dash to make a homemade garlic chili sauce to put in the General Tso’s Chicken while still trying to get everything else done.  Supper was only 30 minutes late and my guests had to help cook their own food but there was no nasty preservatives in their food.  IMG_7130I don’t think anyone minded waiting or the mess in my kitchen while we cooked, well at least they didn’t say anything to me directly.  It is now the year of the horse which I always try to incorporate into the dessert.  Basically I am trying to give a reason to have a dessert at a Chinese dinner which normally wouldn’t really have a sweet dessert (it works for my reasoning).  I was really happy with the way my little horses turned out on my cupcakes.  My kids thought it was hilarious to have them on their rainbow cupcakes.  Yes, I go out of the way to give them a preservative free meal only to add every known food coloring to their cupcakes to get them every color of the rainbow.  Go figure.  The food was a hit.  I didn’t get a picture of the food Friday night but I got a picture of some of the leftovers we had the next day.IMG_7136We stayed up late talking to friends but it was ok because we had a very relaxing weekend until Sunday afternoon when I had to make from scratch homemade pizza for our youth group.  It was also a bit late for kick off but the kids didn’t seem to mind.  We even had help all day long with the kids.  Derek came over after church to help take our kids to a free swim while I stayed home getting the food ready.  I think Derek’s favorite time is cuddle time right after nap time.  The girls love it because Derek is in no hurry to get up which leaves the girls cuddling for well over 30 minutes on the couch.  IMG_7145With the busy weekend of cooking, we might be having a few easier meals for the week, hope no one minds in the Yoder house.  They usually don’t.  Only I mind but I think I will get over it this time.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chinese New Years

  1. Kristina says:

    I love how “real” you are. This made me laugh.

Leave a Reply

