Letting your oldest grow up.

I am going to put a disclaimer right away.  All the pictures were taken with our point and shoot which doesn’t take the best pictures but it is easier to travel with and after all the pictures were up-loaded on to the computer, I realized that they all have the same smudge.  I looked at the lens and sure enough there was the fingerprint.  So all pictures in this post will have a smudge, I have taken care of it and any future pictures from the point and shoot will hopefully be a bit better.

Back to the real post…..These past two weekends have been a stretch for me, letting my oldest child grow up.  He is only 6 1/2 years old but wanting independence on everything.  The things we let him do these past two weekends has made him think he can handle a whole lot.  It makes me nervous.  For starter, we let Luke go on vacation without us.  He went on a trip with my mom to Seattle to see my brother.  It was not the first time he was on an airplane (that was when he was 17 months old) but it was the first time he remembers.  He thought he was pretty grown up taking care of his own stuff on the trip.  He was in charge of his suitcase and backpack for the whole trip.  I am not sure how he did but for the most part everything came back…. down to the last sock.  We even gave him our little camera to travel with hence the fingerprint (haze) on all of the pictures.DSCF2505I think my brother took quite a few pictures because Luke is posing with his cousin.  He had a blast in Seattle.  For this past week he liked to tell us what time it is here in the Midwest and in Seattle.  DSCF2515  As for this past weekend, I will let the picture speak for itself…..DSCF2518

Yeah…all by himself no dog leash, no hand, no in between someone’s legs……all by himself.  He did awesome but man did it make me nervous.  I should maybe do another disclaimer, this black diamond is at a very small ski hill close to home and would probably not be considered a black diamond at Lutsen, MN or any other bigger normal ski resort where they actually have mountains.   Give him another year or two and I think he will be ready for a trip to CO for a real ski trip (or maybe just to Lutsen because it is closer).  We should start fundraising because skiing is expensive.  As much as this one wants to grow up, my little baby Ryan is still content skiing with daddy.  He wants nothing to do with the dog leash or going by himself and I am ok with that.

DSCF2520Do you see the haze now….annoying isn’t it.  Oh well.  Can’t do anything about it now and I would rather have the pictures to remember it then not.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

