Fun in the Snow

It has finally been warm enough to enjoy the snow (although with warmer weather, it also means a mess in the house from wet cloths but it is worth having the kids outside playing).IMG_7635 Last Friday my dad came down to visit.  After the girls ECFE class we decided to pick up Jax and go sledding.  So at 11:00 we headed out with a total of 7 kids (7 and under) and 3 adults…not that bad of a ratio.  Besides bathroom brakes and a quick meal at McDonalds, a few of my kids never entered the house until 5:20 when I made them come in for supper.  What were they doing for most of the time?  I had made the kids a tunnel the day before and told them I would not make them another one…it’s a lot of hard work but they suckered someone else into making more.  IMG_7642 My dad said he never made a tunnel for us growing up so it was about time he made one….yeah that’s smart, wait until you are over 60 to make your first tunnel.  While we were busy making the tunnels, Jax, my two year old nephew, was very busying eating snow where he pleased.  A few times we looked up and couldn’t find him only to see him running after a dog on the street….maybe not the best babysitting moments.  IMG_7629Annabelle (step-sister’s daughter) also came to visit with my dad.  Don’t know if Holly would approve but we taught Annabelle how to climb trees.  At first she was a bit scared but after a while she got up her courage and was going up and down on her own. IMG_7638It was a full fun day outside and wonderful to finally start getting some nice days for a change.  Before my dad left, I quickly snapped a picture of most of the grandkids (only missing 3) for him.  IMG_7604

Saturday the kids were outside for just as long playing in snow banks at my moms.  We made it back in time to line the streets with some friends (and a lot of others from our hometown) to honor a 20 year old Marine who died last week in Afghanistan.  Now Luke has been asking a lot of questions about the war and who is winning, a lot of questions and I just don’t know the answers.  I think it was good for him to realize that there is more to the world then just our little home.  IMG_7651

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun in the Snow

  1. Grandma Doris says:

    Sweet pictures!

Leave a Reply

