A Guardian Angel on Jenna

I know this happened about a month ago but I am just getting around to telling the story.  When Luke was in Seattle, Ted and I decided to take the three little ones to MOA (Mall of America) for a day of fun.  Someone had giving us a few unlimited wristbands so we thought it would be a pretty fun but cheap day.  Everything started out great.  We met up with an old youth group member for lunch (has since left our small rural town, moved to the cities, and now works there on the weekends when she doesn’t have classes).  It was ridiculously busy, we had a hard time finding a place to sit and by the time we were almost done eating, there were people waiting for our table. We said good-bye to our friend and took our kids to the bathrooms right next to the food court where we ate.  When we got out of the bathrooms, Ryan asked if he could have some cookies for dessert.  We stopped at a cookie store that was right at a + intersection between the stores down 2 hallways, the food court one way and the hall to the bathroom another way to see if we could buy some cookies without spending a fortune.  The whole time I was trying to concentrate on the menu, Ryan kept on tugging on my legs.  I ignored him like I usually do because I figured it was about wanting a cookie.  Finally he started yelling, “Mom, we are missing a girl.”  I asked him what he meant and he said it again, “We are missing a girl.”  What?  “Mom, Quinn is here but Jenna is not, we are missing a girl.”  IMG_7844 Enter in Ted’s and my panic mode.  Jenna was indeed gone with hundreds of people swarming around us so we couldn’t see anything.  I quickly grabbed Ryan by the hand and ran to the bathroom to see if we left her in that hall way by chance.  Ted picked up Quinn and went flying to the opposite side of the hallway to scan the food court thinking that Jenna might have just walked right past us and went to where we had sat down.  But no Jenna.  Ryan and Quinn were a bit scared by now too.  IMG_7859Just as Ted and I were getting back together to try and figure out what to do next a crying little Jenna in some random mom’s arms come parting through the crowds towards us.  The lady said she saw Jenna darting through the crowds, running like she was trying to find someone so the lady decided to follow her to make sure Jenna found who she was looking for.  The lady said it just didn’t seem right so she caught up to Jenna and picked her up.  The lady then backtracked across about 4-5 different store fronts to the food area to see if there was anyone looking for Jenna.  Had that lady not noticed Jenna or just let her go, we would not have found Jenna on our own.  But before we had time to call security and get the mall shut down, Jenna was returned to us safe and sound….a bit shaken up but safe.  I don’t know who that lady was, she never said her name but she protected Jenna when we needed someone and for that I am thankful.  IMG_7863I know these picture have nothing to do with the story but I was still working on window-lighting so I decided to throw them in.  Jenna is in the first one and the other two are Quinn (in case you can’t tell them apart yet).

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Guardian Angel on Jenna

  1. Grandma Doris says:

    Oh my!!!!!!!!

  2. 5ennie says:

    How scary!!! I’m so glad she was ok.
    About two years ago we left a gas station in our RV and left one of our kids behind. True story. Fortunately one of the other kids noticed before we got too far and we were able to return quickly.
    Lovely photos!

Leave a Reply

