Our new purchase

About  2 weeks ago Ted and I decided to make a new purchase.  We bought a pop-up.  I grew up camping in a tent and wanted to do that with our kids but I didn’t think I really wanted to do the tent thing.  I don’t sleep well to begin with and all of the repacking just did not appeal to my over-organized self.  I thought a pop-up would be a great solution especially sense we were planning on going on vacation through South Dakota in a week.   We were both a little scared how our mini-van would handle pulling that much weight but we decided to head off. We spent 8 nights and 9 days on the road.  The trip went great with a few minor problems but nothing we could not handle.  The kids had a blast.  Our first night we pulled in a bit late to our camp site but we had to wait until Ted was off work on Friday.  We got ready in the dark which wasn’t all bad because with a pop-up or glorified tent, we had lights just not water.  IMG_0475The next day we headed off to see the corn palace.  I remember being impressed with it when I was little so we decided to stop and look at the corn art and eat a bit of pop-corn too.  IMG_0500I think I enjoyed the drive just as much as all of the different activities we did along the way.  There were storms rolling through which made the sky deep blue.  The rain would only last 30 minutes and then the sun would come up. It was like this the whole trip.  IMG_0508It made for beautiful pictures in the badlands too but those will have to wait for another post.  Anyways, we also stopped at a prairie sod-house exhibit.  I have been to a lot of these type of exhibits but never one that allowed you to play and touch everything…and I mean everything.  They even provided dress-up clothes in case you wanted to view everything in the correct time-period clothing.  Our kids only wanted to wear the hats.  I was ok with that because I did not feel like putting on a dress, apron and bonnet either.  IMG_0519Our first couple of days were a bit rocky with the pop-up but we started to figure out what things worked the best for us including letting everyone have  a turn at dishes (because I am against disposable dishes even when camping).  I’ll fill you in how the rest of the trip went later.  IMG_0481

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our new purchase

  1. Congrats on the camper! But beware…it’s a slippery slope. We started with a teardrop, upgraded to a pop-up, and this year moved up into a ridiculous 26-foot condo on wheels. 🙂 Enjoy it, lots of opportunities to make memories!

Leave a Reply

