Ryan’s Birthday Party…Finally

Ryan turned 5 about 2 weeks ago.  Even though I was sick..coughing, blowing my nose and running a fever, I let Ryan pick out his birthday meal.  And of course he picks some of his favorite foods that are all labor intensive.  That morning we made cake pops (cake and frosting mixed together then put on a stick and candy coated with sprinkles).  IMG_0834Ryan also requested Chinese dumplings so I don’t think you can get more labor intensive but that’s ok.  I was sick but I didn’t lose my appetite and Chinese dumplings are so good. IMG_0835Later that week we went to the store so Ryan could spend some of his birthday money on what ever he wanted.  He has been looking forward to buying his own Lego sets for a long time so we headed straight to the Lego isle.

IMG_0811Lets just say he was impressed with his options (and yes I brought my big camera into the store so I could get a picture because I knew his face would say it all).  In the last few months legos have become very important to Ryan.  No more cute animal cakes for his birthday, it had to be legos.  IMG_0921We finally had his party this weekend.  He invited a few friends to play with, mostly neighbor kids because Ryan is still very shy.  We painted pumpkins, had a treasure hunt, played sardines, and had a pinata…you know the typical Yoder kid party.  IMG_0922But this year, this is the first year Ryan has not been too shy to blow out his own candles.  He did it himself…in front of people…while they were looking at him.  He is growing up.  IMG_0945

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

