The problems of having a photography happy mom

I have been busy lately with family Christmas pictures and Senior pictures.  I really lack experience working with other people besides my family so I have been getting really nervous.  I don’t want to screw up.  I have been making my kids practice being models for me so I can have everything right when I actually do it with clients.  I think my kids are getting tired of it.  But I have came up with a few really good pictures but it has taken a bit of work.  I finally got the Christmas light picture to look good right before a family came.  Ted and I were kind of cutting it close.  I don’t have a picture of my kids with the set up because by the time we actually got it right, none of my kids would cooperate.  But here is one of the practice ones….just imagine the whole background filled with 900 little Christmas lights.  (Oh and imagine Jenna in a nicer looking shirt while you are at it.)IMG_1889A different time I was trying to get a family shoot with all of my kids for Christmas; however, they all fought over who got what prop so by the time it was all said and done, I had Quinn with most of the props and a smile and all my other kids off pouting.  I was not in a good mood either which did not help.IMG_2447This past week I was also very worried about a Senior shoot I had to do.  Usually you do pictures outside but it’s winter right now in MN so I didn’t know if outside would work.  I took my kids out one morning for a bit of practice to see what the pictures would look like.  Jenna was the only volunteer this day but it lasted about 1 minute before she was complaining that her ears, hands and butt were cold so we were done.   Apparently the cement was cold.IMG_2481Luckily the day of the photo shoot, I had a really good friend come over and practice being my model to help me get the lighting correct before the actual senior came over for pictures.  Got to love my youth group.  IMG_2521With all of the random practicing, I have been looking on-line for some inspiration and found this pose that I wanted to do with a kid just for the fun of it.  Jenna to the rescue again. IMG_1898It has not been all pictures around here, we did manage to make some truffles…IMG_2201read some books….IMG_2489and make some music these last few weeks.  IMG_2474It’s been busy and I think my kiddos are ready from a break in front of the camera.  You might just see some still life pictures the next month.

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in 365 Photo Project, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The problems of having a photography happy mom

  1. These are great! Do you use an off-camera flash for the indoor portraits, or what do you use for lighting?

  2. Hey Kristina, my camera does not have a flash and I tend to not like pictures using flashes in general so I was ok with it. Most of the indoor pictures are done in front of my large west facing window in the morning. The window is huge…think 7 x 4. I run into problems when it is a cloudy dark day and the light just doesn’t come in. Since I had a bunch of scheduled shoots this winter, I was worried that I would have to cancel them because of cloudy weather. My husband went and bought me some external lights with umbrellas. The lights are suppose to mimic the natural light quality. They seem to work. They were pretty cheap so they are not very bright, I still need the window light but I can now take pictures at a low enough ISO to get a good shoot on a cloudy day. Hope that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

