Catching up on 365 Pictures

These are all going to be a bit random but life has been busy lately and we have been all over the place.

A few weeks ago Ted and I went away for the weekend.  An awesome youth group member volunteered to watch our kids for a weekend as her Christmas present to us.  We decided to go to my old stomping grounds from college.  It was a great and relaxing weekend.  We went to the movies, visited the college, did a puzzle and went cross-country skiing on some of the trails I did about 15 years ago.  It was a bit cold but well worth it.  IMG_2793Sweet….can’t get sweeter than chocolate.  IMG_2856Chinese New Year is coming up in a few weeks and I had not learned any new Chinese recipes in the last year.  I really wanted to try my hand at Peking (Beijing) Duck with made from scratch mandarin pancakes before the new year so back in January I figured it was time to try.  It was not as hard and I thought it would be.  Everyone but Luke loved it so I guess it was a success.  IMG_2870 IMG_2882My hometown has a medallion search every winter.  They give 5 clues over 5 weeks.  Ted and I always thought it would be fun to search for the medallion but usually we find the clues after 4 have been published and the medallion found.  This year we remembered.  We went searching on Saturday after the second clue was published.  Sadly to say the medallion was found in that spot on Friday, the day before.  Oh well, the kids had fun looking all over the place and it was a good excuse to get outside and have some fun.  While we were looking for the medallion we found a lot of hiding places that the squirrels had left their nuts.  IMG_2966Last weekend we went downhill skiing with a few friends.  We were gone for 4 days.  I can’t ski well enough to take my camera with me down the hills but that didn’t stop me taking a quick picture over supper while playing Skip-Bo.  IMG_2979 A lot of people in my photography club are trying free lensing.  I decided to give it a try.  It is harder than I thought but kind of fun to try.  I basically took a picture with the lens in my hand and not attached to my camera.  It is supposed to give you a really weird slice of focus.  But it is really hard to get any focus.  IMG_2997And I will leave you with one of my favorite pictures I used for my monthly challenge.  It is hard being a snowman on a warm day.  IMG_2971

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in 365 Photo Project, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

