Chinese New Year

A few weeks ago China celebrated its New Year.  It is a very important time in the Chinese culture so we have tried to incorporate it into ours.  This year we started a few new traditions.  I set up times in each of my children’s classrooms to read some books about this special time and about how each year got named after the animals.  We also made some red envelopes filled with candy money to hand out to all of the students.  IMG_3108We did our usual huge Chinese feast where we invite a bunch of friends and family and eat supper together.  It takes me the whole day to make all the food and I am usually tired by the time everybody arrives but it is Chinese food and it is well worth it.  IMG_3119This year I had a friend come over and help me cook which was awesome.  We might have talked more than we cooked but we did get the food done before most of the people arrived this year so that is an improvement.  IMG_3139 For our menu, we had Chinese dumplings, shrimp lo mein, garlic broccoli, honey sesame chicken, spicy peanut spring rolls, and fresh-cut fruit.   Chinese culture teaches that each food has a meaning behind it and a reason for eating it.  For example noodles represent longevity so if you want a long life you need to eat these during the celebration.  Seeds like sesame seed will bring fertility (don’t worry I did not use too many of those).  If I remember correctly shrimp means lots of laughter in the coming year.  If you would have asked me the day of the celebration, I probably could have told you what most of the food meant but that was 3 weeks ago.   IMG_3160To finish out the meal I made sheep cupcakes for the year of the sheep.  It is the year both Ted and I were born.   IMG_3130It was a wonderful evening celebrating the New Year with friends and family, people who are willing to surround our girls with love and acceptance of their heritage.  IMG_3169

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

