Answered Prayer

On Monday we had a very busy day.  We had to take Quinn to the Cranial facial Clinic for a scope procedure.  I don’t remember the exact name.  Quinn has some nasal leakage when she talks which means that her palate is short and not working correctly and it is affecting her speech.  Anyways, the doctors were going to stick a camera up Quinn’s nose, through her nasal cavity until it was on top of her soft palate.  It is suppose to be pretty painful.  I then have to calm her down so that she can talk normally.  This procedure is suppose to help us understand how Quinn’s palate is functioning so the doctors know how to fix it in another surgery.  I think this is how Quinn felt about the procedure.  IMG_4450

Let’s backup to the day before… Sunday….there was a call for healing at our church.  Ted and I took Quinn forward, not that we asked for healing but we wanted prayer to make the procedure go smoothly, that Quinn was able to handle everything and the doctors get the information that they needed.

Back to Monday….. my dad went with us because as he dropped Quinn and I off at the University, our foreign exchange student, Asi, was landing at the airport.  I felt a little bad that I was not there but I think he was ok with it.  My dad and the other three kids head off to the airport for Asi.  Jenna thought she was very special because for once she was not having to go to the doctor.  She was on the very important mission of picking up Asi, her new best friend.  IMG_4466 IMG_4470

Meanwhile, back at the specialty clinic, Quinn and I check in and start talking with the speech therapist.  IMG_4442

After about 5 minutes of having Quinn say different words and sounds, the doctor and therapist look at each other and shrug their shoulders.  The doctor walks off.  The speech therapist tells me that there is hardly any nasal leakage today and that they would never do this procedure on a child this small with the amount of leakage she has.  Which means more then likely we will not have to have another palate procedure, well at least not any time soon.  We will see how everything grows and stretches as Quinn gets older.   IMG_4447

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

