Follow up on Panama

I realize that it has been almost 2 months since Ted and I left for Panama on our first missions trip since we have had kids.  I never did write about it because life got really crazy when we got home.  For starters Jenna and Quinn went through some weird separation anxiety that we had not seen for over a year or so.  Apparently having mommy and daddy gone for 13 days will open up a lot of their old scars.  We were a little concerned about this happening while we were gone but they did great at Ted’s parents house.  However, even now Jenna is very upset if daddy does not come back from work when she thinks he should be home.  But it is becoming less and less so hopefully it will be back to normal soon.

Anyways, our trip to Panama was great.   We were able to speak in about 7 public schools during the day.  After our little presentation we played with the kids.  In the evenings we would go to smaller churches and Pastor Brad would give the sermon.  Each night a few of us would give our testimonies or at least parts of them before the sermon.  We also do a lot of praying with the people.  I am not a person who has ever felt comfortable praying out loud for people (I blame my Lutheran up-bringing) but I did a lot of it.  Still can’t say I am comfortable with it but I can do it so that is a plus.

We did get to do a bit of sight seeing down there.  I can now say I have been to 2 man-made wonders of the world:  the Panama Canal and the Great Wall of China.

IMG_4429  I was amazed at how big those boats were and how little extra space there is in those canals.  I think this boat hit the side and we felt the ground shake beneath us.  IMG_4414I don’t know if this is true or not but someone said that in every boat that goes through the canal there is an average of 100 children and women in containers being forced into the sex industry.  Just thinking about that fact made me sad and kind of sick to my stomach.  I wish there was more I could do or even have something I could do but I think like a lot of people in the world they don’t really know what to do so they don’t do anything.   Unfortunately I find myself like that with a lot of issues.  It is frustrating.

Something that happened state side while we were gone….THAT I MISSED…. was Ryan lost his first and second tooth at Grandma’s house.  I was bummed.  I am a stay at home mom and have gotten to see all the firsts for the boys.  And here I miss not just the first but the second also.  While texting Ryan about missing this event, his reply was, “don’t worry mom, I have more teeth I will lose.”  True enough Ryan but I still felt a bit bad.  At least I know life will continue.  IMG_4757

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Follow up on Panama

  1. Ruth Volkmann says:

    Go girl! Am happy for your mission trip. Our church (Triinity, Medford) is going to go to Guatamala in January. Unfortunately, I will not go, as I don’t think that I could handle it anymore. Maybe Tara can go in the future, but right now she is thinking she would like to make a return trip with Anna to China. It’s a wonderful opportunity for anyone who can go. God bless your Christian efforts.

Leave a Reply

