On my way to China!

Before everyone gets really excited, no, we are not adopting again or at least that is not in the immediate future for us.  But I am going to China in 6 days.  I had a photography friend message me back in February asking me if I wanted to go with her adoption agency on a trip in April.  We will be spending time in a few orphanages, meeting and playing with some kiddos there.  Part of our job is to get some updated pictures and videos, play with them so we get to know their personalities.  All of this information will be used by the agency in hopes that a family will see the information, fall in love with a kiddo, adopt and bring the child home.  My group is working in 2 difference orphanages; one in Shanghai and the other in Changsha, Hunan.  Here is a link you can copy and paste into your browser and it will show you some of the kiddos the team met last September:   http://video214.com/play/UdpIdlgrIEoMUWINBIxsAA/s/dark

Some prayer requests for the trip would be that we all have safe travels, no one gets sick.  That my kids are ok emotionally while I am gone.  Jenna has been struggling in the last week just with the anticipation of me leaving.

Second for the children we are going to meet.  That their immediate needs are met: medically, physically, and emotionally.  That somehow in their difficult situation they keep their hopes up that one day a family will come for them.  That when that family comes for them, they can let go of all the pain, all of the hurt, all of the anger they have inside of them and learn to love, to enjoy life, to be a kid.

And third that families step up and adopt these children who desperately need a family.  Even though it will be difficult, extended family members might question them, they might question themselves too but that these families learn to rely on God and say “YES” to a child.

I don’t know if I will post while there but my group will be posting about the children we meet on this blog:  http://superkidscharity.blogspot.com  Please follow along and meet some of the kids I will be meeting.  They also have a facebook page at Gladney’s superkids.  And there is another option but I have never heard of it so I am copying and pasting from an email.

And then there is Periscope. We will be streaming live videos on Periscope like we did on our last trip! If you aren’t familiar with Periscope you can download the free app on Apple or Android devices then search for Superkids. If they follow us there they will get a notification when we are live! The videos are available for 24 hours so even if they miss the live stream they can still watch the video! 

About tochinaandbackagain

I am a stay at home mom to two very active boys and soon we will bring home two Chinese twin girls with cleft lip and palate issues. I spend my day trying to be the best parent and wife I can be with God leading the way.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

